Nominees for the 2015 Lambda Literary Awards in the Bisexual Categories

lambdaFamous bisexual names, and longtime bisexual activists are in the mix in the eight nominees for the Bisexual Categories in the prestigious Lambda Literary Awards.

Charles Blow, a journalist who came out as bi in a piece in The New York Times, was nominated for his book, and out bi actor Alan Cumming was nominated as well. Longtime bisexual activists Ron Suresha, Robyn Ochs and Sheela Lambert were also named among the nominees.

The announcement for the 27th annual Lambda Literary Awards included two specific bisexual categories: Bisexual Fiction and Bisexual Non-fiction.

It was a record-breaking year of the number of book submissions, and the awards ceremony is Monday, June 1 in New York City.

Early Bird Gala Tickets On-Sale Now

The 27th Annual Lambda Literary Awards–or the “Lammys,” as they are affectionately known–kick off another record-breaking year with today’s announcement of the finalists. They were chosen from a record 818 submissions (up from 746 last year) from 407 publishers (up from 352 last year). Submissions came from major mainstream publishers and from academic presses, from both long-established and new LGBT publishers, as well as from emerging publish-on-demand technologies. Pioneer and Trustee Award honorees, the master of ceremonies, and presenters will be announced in April.

27th Annual Lambda Literary Award Finalists

Note: The number of finalists in a category is determined by the number of submissions in that category.



The 27th Lambda Literary Awards celebrate achievement in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) writing for books published in 2014. The awards ceremony on June 1, 2015, will be held for the third straight year at the historic Great Hall at Cooper Union (7 East 7th Street, New York City 10003). A VIP After-Party presented by Scholastic at its SOHO rooftop space will follow. For more information and to buy tickets, please visit LL’s website.

“Each year, the Lammys bring national attention to the best LGBTQ books, which are often overlooked by the mainstream media and might otherwise be forgotten,” said Lambda Literary Board President, S. Chris Shirley.  “This critical program of Lambda Literary not only recognizes the outstanding work of these talented authors, but also underscores the importance of LGBTQ stories, which are fundamental to the preservation of our culture.”

 See the complete list by CLICKING HERE.

More than 100 literary professionals, including booksellers, book reviewers, librarians, authors, and previous Lammy winners and finalists volunteered countless hours of reading, critical thinking, and invigorating discussion to select the finalists in 24 categories.

“On behalf of Lambda’s staff and board, we congratulate this year’s finalists for their outstanding achievement among a field of submissions chock-full of talent,” said Lambda Literary Executive Director, Tony Valenzuela. “I’d also like to thank our deeply dedicated judges who read and deliberate the submitted books. Theirs is a tremendous contribution to our literary communities.”

Tickets for the Lambda Literary Awards ceremony and after-party go on sale today. For information, visit here and join the conversation by following the hashtag #Lammys on Twitter. Early bird tickets at discounted prices are available for the entire month of March. Tickets for the ceremony only are $125. Tickets for the ceremony plus VIP after-party are $225. Prices will increase by $25 beginning April 1st.

(PS: Mike Szymanski co-authored with Nicole Kristal the very first Bisexual Award given out at the Lambda Literary Awards when there was only one category, and has been a judge in the awards.)